December 2018 Meeting

We ended the 2018 year with an informative evening led by Noreen. At the request of some of our members, Noreen showed us many samples of foliage and made suggestions on various ways in which we can use them in our floral art designs. It is easier to grow most of these plants at home ready to be used whenever we need them. Being the Christmas meeting, the bench was filled with Xmas wreaths and Sandra Fallu was judged the winner by popular vote.

During the meeting we all had the pleasure of witnessing our president Elizabeth Oberin being handed the ‘John Pascoe Fawkner Gold Award’ by the Royal Horticultural Society for her great contribution to floral art over the years. She is also the president of Victorian Floral Art Association Inc and is a very worthy recipient of this award. Congratulations Elizabeth!

The bench winners for 2018 were Noreen Donovan for Open, Ginta Pindard for Intermediate, and Binu Sreekumar for Novice. ‘Wired work’ was won by Sophie Ye and ‘From the garden’ was won by Haeztra Goonetilleke. We had lots of chatter sharing a delicious supper afterwards.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: